bookdateimwayr.jpgIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a place to meet up and share what you have been, are, and about to be reading over the week.  This post is an excellent way to organize yourself, comment and connect with other bloggers, and, of course, add to the ever-growing TBR.

This meme started with J Kaye’s Blog and then was taken up by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn at the Book Date. I found it at Bookshelf Fantasies where I was trolling around for blog post ideas.

What I Just Finished:

The Fifth PetalThe Fifth Petal by Brunonia Barry (My Full Review)

When the recent murder of a teenage boy resembles the decades-old murder of three young women, self-named The Goddesses, John Rafferty, Salem’s Chief of Police searches for the truth. He finds assistance in an unlikely place when the now-grown Callie Cahill returns to Salem having survived the murder when she was a young child. Neither Callie nor John believe that Rose Whelan, the other survivor of the Goddess murders is guilty of murder or witchcraft, but the two must work quickly to exonerate her before the witch trials return Salem with Rose at their center.

This book was a nice mix of mystery, suspense, and murder with a sprinkling of the supernatural thrown in for good measure.

The Ninth Circle

The Ninth Circle by C. A. Harland (My Full Review)

Nighthunters Tala and Aiva Morgenstern must battle the demons of hell in order to recover their younger sister and fellow Nighthunter, Hartley. While doing battle with Hell’s minions, they must overcome their own, internal demons as well in this journey of self-sacrifice, ambition, and self-discovery.

This book was a cathartic tale of bravery in the face of danger, good v. evil, and the courage and strength required to be vulnerable.

What I Am Currently Reading:

The New DarkThe New Dark by Lorraine Thomson: Goodreads

A dystopian novel that addresses the dangers of prejudice and the courage it takes to abandon those prejudices, The New Dark has proven to be interesting. Based on the language and writing style, it feels more juvenile than other YA stories and I would likely place this at a middle-grade level. I don’t often enjoy these because I feel that they lack subtly in their messages and little nuance in terms of character development. At about 53% of the way through it, I have quite a bit more to go before I can make a fully-formed decision on the story as a whole. Keep an eye out for my review!

What I am Reading Next:

ArtemisArtemis by Andy Weir: Goodreads

I CANNOT WAIT TO READ THIS.

This is my most-anticipated read for the month, and I added a few too many books on NetGalley that I had to read before this one. But I am STOKED to start it. Tbh, it’s probably the only thing that is getting me through my current read.

I adored The Martian and the synopsis for this book drew me in with the gravitational force of the sun.

 


Is there anything that you’re particularly excited to read or something you’ve recently finished that was particularly satisfying? Let me know in the comments below.

 

Happy Reading!

Leave a comment